Hat-trick hero Markey seals Ardoyne’s win

Under 16B Ladies Football final

Ardoyne 4-10 St Jonn’s 1-10

A hat-trick of goals from right half forward Katie Markey, plus a string of great saves by goalkeepers Orlaith Lynch guided Ardoyne to victory over St John’s in a thrilling Under 16 B LGFA final at St Agnes on Tuesday evening. Markey was in great form scoring a goal in the first half before adding two more in the second against a luckless St John’s side who battled to the bitter end.

Hannah McAllister put John’s ahead with a pointed free in the opening minute, but Evie McAllister levelled on two minutes before Cadhla Glover put Ardoyne ahead on four minutes and Anna McGarry added another point to put four between the sides with just five minutes played. A

Ana Adams and Hannah McAllister came back with points for  St John’s and they could have had a couple of goals only for the brilliance of Orlaith Lynch in the Ardoyne goal. Ardoyne came back strongly and points from Katie Markey, Cadhla McGarry and Aishling Anderson stretched their advantage. Katie Markey got the first of her three goals and as they pressed home their advantage Anderson got two more points and Anna McGarry one to see them open up a 2-8 to 0-4 half time lead.

St John’s came out in the second half with much more purpose to their play and two early points from Hannah McAllister and a goal from Ana Adams cut the deficit back to five points. Ardoyne were being pinned back in their own half for first ten minutes of the second half, but and Evie McAllister point for Ardoyne eased the pressure and when Markey got her second goal the pressure was off.

Two points from Hannah McAllister and one from Ana Adams kept St John’s hopes alive but those hopes were dashed by hat-trick hero Markey who fired in goal number three to complete a remarkable performance.


Orlaith Lynch, Sharon King, Aideen McDonnell, Rebecca McLaughlin, Aimee Louise McLaughlin, Grace McAllister, Aiofe McDonnell, Aishling Anderson, Anna McGarry, Katie Markey, Cadhla Glover, Ellie O’Reilly, Kirsty Crawford, Evie McAllister, Carys O’Neill.


Orla Nolan, Sara Lagan, Eimear Johnston, Meabh McAleavey, Sophie Bradley, Catherine Thompson, Lacey Saunders, Siobhan McGurk, Emma Early, Lucy Reynolds, Hanna McAllister, Sinead McAleavey, Ana Adams, Ava Kennedy, Lorna May Mullan.

REFEREE – Ray Matthews

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.