Jo-Jo fires St. Ergnat’s to title

LGFA U16 Championship final

St. Ergnat’s 5-14 St. Paul’s 1-10

Josephine (Jo-Jo) Darragh struck an impressive 2-6 as St. Ergnat’s Moneyglass claimed the U16 ladies title with a win over St. Paul’s at Dunsilly on Tuesday night. The talented centre-half-forward was the outstanding player in an excellent all round Moneyglass side with Leah Cassidy at mid-field another who caught the eye for the South West girls

First half goals from Leah Cassidy, Leah Stewart and Jo Jo Darragh paved the way for a Moneyglass victory over old adversaries, St. Paul’s in the ladies U16 Football final. St. Ergnat’s took the game to their opponents from early in the game and looked in a strong position when they led 3-7 to 1-6 at the interval.

St. Paul’s gave it everything and an early goal from Cara McCleave gave them a good start to the game and despite trailing by 7 at the interval they still looked well in contention but when Darragh struck her second and her side’s fourth goal early in the second half it looked a long way back for the Shaw’s Road girls.

The ‘Hoops’ never gave up but significantly, failed to score in the final quarter and a 5th goal from Leah Cassidy in injury time saw the Marian Hill side celebrate another title in what has already been an excellent season for the Moneyglass girls.

Moneyglass scorers: Josephine Darragh 2-6, Leah Cassidy 2-1, Leag Stewart 1-1, Ruby McErlain 0-1, Molly Gribbin 0-1

St. Paul’s scorers: Cara McCleave 1-0, Orlaith Walker 0-4, Orleigha McGuinness 0-3, Aishling Hyndman 0-2, Kella McAllister 0-1

Moneyglass: 1 Siobhan Magee, 2 Eve Bradley, 3 Katie O’Boyle, 4 Aibhe O’Boyle, 5 Aoife McGroggan, 6 Katie McCloskey, 7 Caitlin Graffin, 8 Maria McNally, 9 Leah Cassidy, 10 Orlaith McAteer, 11 Josephine Darragh, 12 Cara McKeefry, 13 Ruby McErlain, 14 Annie Griffin, 15 Leah Stewart, 17 Molly Gribbin, 18 Nicole Graham, 19 Katie McAlister, 20 Aoibhinn McKeefry, 21 Olivia Marron, 22 Aedin Vallely, 23 Georgia Kearney, 24 Aoibheann Mullen, 25 Meaghan McCann

St. Paul’s: 1 Amy Murray, 2 Clodagh Mervyn, 3 Maeve Devlin, 4 Aoife Sullivan, 5 Nicole Munce, 6 Enya Daye, 7 Aoife Mervyn, 8 Dairine Phillips, 9 Hannah Murray, 10 Aisling Hyndman, 11 Orlaigh Walker, 12 Orleigha McGuinness, 13 Kella McAllister, 14 Cara McCleave, 15 Erin Elliott, 16 Eimear Devlin, 17 Saorlaith Brennan, 18 Cora Leigh McKeown, 19 Laoise Morgan, 20 Aoibhin Ni Dhuibhfinn. 21 Ella Fallon, Anna Herdman

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.