McCarthy goals pave way for emphatic Aldergrove win

ACFL Division 2

St. James Aldergrove 4-12 St. Teresa’s 0-7

Two first half goals from Ryan McCarthy paved the way for an emphatic Aldergrove victory over visitors St. Teresa’s in Crumlin on Sunday morning. The bustling full-forward was a constant threat to the St. Teresa’s defence and with Seamus McGarry and Declan Gough in fine scoring form it was as good as over at the break.

The visitors did threaten to make a game of it in the early stages and actually led 0-2 to 0-1 after 8 minutes with Paul McGoldrick and John Mallon on target and Conor Browning replying for the Crumlin side.

The home side were thankful to Shane O’Neill who pulled off a good save as St. Teresa’s opened brightly but when McCarthy got on the end of a long delivery form Seamus McGarry to fire to the net the complexion of the game changed dramatically.

Brian McQuillan, Seamus McGarry 0-2, Fearghal Hanna and a couple from Declan Gough saw the home side move clear with McCarthy fielding another pin point McGarry delivery to fire past Odhran O’Neill as St. James moved into a commanding 3-7 to 0-4 half time lead.

Seamus McGarry extended that lead with a point on the restart before Eoin Gault briefly eased the onslaught with an excellent long range point for the Glen Road men but it wasn’t long until the Crumlin side were back on the offensive.

James Trowlan and McGarry relied with points before the home side lost a player to a Red card but it failed to make a significant difference with Declan Gough adding a couple of points in reply to one for Maguire for the visitors.

A goal from county player, Seamus McGarry brought the St. James scoring to a conclusion with John Mallon striking a consolation point for an out of touch St. Teresa’s who opened brightly but were outclassed in the end by a sharp and well organised St. James side.

Aldergrove: 1 Shane O’Neill, 2 Conleith O’Toole, 3 Emmet Irvine, 4 Aiden Irvine, 5 Conor Browning, 6 Christopher McVeigh,7 Geraid Mallon  , 8 Conleith Hendron, 9 Eoin Hamill, 10 Ryan Owens, 11 Fearghal Hanna, 12 Declan Gough, 13 Brian McQuillan, 14 Ryan McCarthy, 15 Seamus McGarry, 16 Oisin McGarry, 18 Stephen Gorman, 20 Michael McCarthy, 17 Seamus Trowlen, 22 Chris Browning

St. Teresa’s: 1 Odhran O’Neill, 2 Aodhan Dugan, 3 Eoin Gault, 4 Eoghan O’Neill, 5 Colm McGoldrick, 6 Darren McCann, 7 Paul Johnston, 8 Luke Cassin, 9 Conor O’Rawe, 10 John Mallon, 11 Sean Maguire, 12 Phil Maguire, 13 Niall McCann, 14 John Erskine, 15 Paul McGoldrick

Referee: Richard Leahy

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.